Cawthorn announces he will seek a seat in District 13

Published 12:46 pm Tuesday, November 16, 2021

Announcement that he will switch from District 14 to District 13 race in 2022

POLK COUNTY—U.S. Rep. Madison Cawthorn announced last week he will seek a seat in District 13 in 2020 instead of District 14, where he lives. 

The congressional maps for North Carolina were redrawn recently and finalized by state lawmakers on Nov. 4. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Polk County went from District 11, where Cawthorn is serving his first term, to District 13. 

Candidates for the North Carolina legislature have to run in their district but congressional candidates do not. 

House speaker Tim Moore had announced he would run for the District 13 congressional seat in 2022, but hours after Cawthorn’s announcement last Thursday, Moore announced that he plans to run again for N.C. House speaker. 

In District 13, Polk County joins Gaston, Cleveland, Burke, McDowell, Rutherford and parts of Mecklenburg counties. 

The state filing period will be from Dec. 6-17. A primary is set for March 8. Election Day for 2022 will be on Nov. 8. 

Announcements so far for the congressional seat in District 13 include Republicans Cawthorn, Karen Bentley, Tyler Lee and Richard Speer and Democrat Josh Remillard.