Polk swears in new commissioners

Published 9:33 pm Tuesday, December 8, 2020

Melton is new chair; Beiler appointed vice-chair

COLUMBUS—Polk County has a new chairman with a familiar face. 

The Polk County Board of Commissioners met Monday and swore in newly elected board members and appointed Tommy Melton as chairman of the board and Paul Beiler as vice-chair. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This is the 5th time Melton will serve as chair since he was first elected in 2006. 

Former chairman Myron Yoder was sworn into office for a 4-year term after being the high vote getter in November. 

This is Yoder’s second term 4-year term. 

Newly elected commissioner Andre Overholt was also sworn into office for a 4-year term as well as David Moore, who was elected to a 2-year term. 

This is Overholt’s first term and Moore’s first term, although Moore has been serving on the board after being appointed last year to fill the term of Jake Johnson, who resigned as county commissioner to be appointed a state representative. Johnson was elected to the state position in November. 

Melton congratulated everyone who was elected this year. He congratulated Moore for being elected and said he was so proud of Overholt and knows he will be a success as a county commissioner. 

On Yoder, Melton said he says what he means and do what he says. 

“This year, you have led this board tremendously,” Melton said about Yoder. “Your wisdom, the guts that you have to face things; and I’ve seen you go forward with a lot of things. You’ve stood for what you believe in. I really thank you for what you have done and how you have handled yourself on this board.” 

This is the first all republican board since prior to 2006 when Melton along with others were elected as democrats. 

The board said their farewells to former commissioner Ray Gasperson, who lost this election this year. Gasperson, a democrat, has served consecutively since 2008.