Wolverines earn 26 spots on all-WHC squads

Published 8:00 am Thursday, May 31, 2018

Polk County earned quite a collection of all-Western Highlands Conference honors, landing two players of the year, a coach of the year and 26 total all-conference selections.

Wolverine senior Holden Owens and junior Ryan Heider were named the WHC’s baseball and tennis players of the year, respectively, with head coach Billy Alm named the league’s baseball coach of the year.

The complete list of all-Western Highlands Conference squads for all spring sports include:

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Player of the year: Holden Owens, Polk County

Pitcher of the year: Will Westbrock, Owen

Coach of the year: Billy Alm, Polk County


Avery: Josh Cook and Noah Rosato

Madison: Kannon Coates and Colton Roberts

Mitchell: Trystan Jenkins, Noah Pittman, Caleb Pritchard, Ben Robinson, Jeremy Sparks and Ben Young

Mountain Heritage: Hayden Branton, Derrick Thomas and Casey Wilson

Owen: Jackson Shaw and Trent Smith

Polk County: Nicholas Capozzi, Avery Edwards, Tyler Harris, Grayson Jones, Sedric Pickett and Evan Rimer

Girls Soccer

Player of the year: Camryn Bolick, Owen

Goalie of the year: Brandy Burleson, Mitchell; C.J. Graham, Owen

Coach of the year: David Fiest, Owen


Avery: Hannah Ruth Crosby and Kaylee Pittman

Madison: Amy Appollo, Jenna Barilovits, Olivia Nolan and Madison Taylor

Mitchell: Morgan Buchanan, Katy Hall and Zoe Lord

Mountain Heritage: Sammy Houchard and Megan Kenner

Owen: Kelsey Beck, Carly Campbell, Larkin Dale, Racheal Graham, Brooklyn Roland and Kayla Roseman

Polk County: Belen Akers, Reese Alley, Lauren Ketwitz, Baylee Love and Bella Marino


Player of the year: Bailey Cantrell, Madison

Pitcher of the year: Hannah Jennings, Madsion

Coach of the year: Andy Gregg, Madison


Avery: Macayla Benfield and  Leah Ricker

Madison: Alex Baker, Brooklyn Franklin, Ashley Hamlin, Lili Honeycutt, Alex Nix and Haley Ray

Mitchell: Shelby Twiddy

Mountain Heritage: Kayla Biddix and Haley Penland

Owen: Caitlyn Ledford, Jaiden Tweed, Ashley Valencia and Gabi Wyatt

Polk County: Hannah Emory, Haley Fowler, Maranda Gosnell, Ansley Lynch, Autumn Owen and Karli Wood

Boys Tennis

Player of the year: Ryan Heider, Polk County

Coaches of the year: Chuck Robinson and Dick Keefer, Owen


Avery: Carter Dearmin, Garrett Dellinger, Brock Dindlechner and Chuck Roberson

Mountain Heritage: Will Calkins, Cobin Cooper and Nick Mencis

Owen: Joseph Frith, Hunter Haynes, Lorenz Hoover, Ethan Kadau, Wyatt Lehman and Brandon Nightingale

Polk County: Ethan Edwards, Henry Heider, Henry Monts and Payton Stott


Player of the year: Austin McGuire, Mitchell


Avery: Mason Daniels and Matt Leaman

Mitchell: Mitchell McMahan  and Ty Pittman

Mountain Heritage: Stetson Fox

Polk County: Carson Emory, Hunter Lynch and Dillon Overholt

– Submitted by PolkSports.com