Landrum Fire & Rescue: New commissioners sworn in Monday

Published 7:23 pm Tuesday, January 30, 2018

LANDRUM – The Landrum Area Fire and Rescue District swore in their first elected commissioners during the Monday, Jan. 22 meeting. Newly elected commissioners are J. R. Jackson, Joe Brown, Pam Hilsman, Diana Winkler, and Scott Owens. 

When the South Carolina General Assembly originally formed the district in 2015, the assembly appointed commissioners to serve on the governing board through 2017. Beginning in 2018, the commissioners would be elected representatives. 

Commissioners J.R. Jackson, Pam Hilsman, and Scott Owens served as initial appointees and then ran for the office in the November 2017 election. When, in 2017, appointed commissioner Bart Winkler retired before his term was completed,  Governor Henry McMaster appointed Diana Winkler as commissioner to fulfill her husband’s term of office. Diana Winkler then ran for election and won the office in the November 2017 election.  

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Joe Brown has served as a past chief of the department in its previous form. Once the meeting was underway, the commissioners re-elected Pam Hilsman as chair, Diana Winkler as vice chair and J.R. Jackson as secretary/treasurer.