Races for council in Columbus, Saluda and Tryon

Published 2:12 pm Friday, July 19, 2013

Mayor Peoples will run against Jim Wright and Anne Day, who also filed for mayor of Tryon.

In Columbus, incumbents Rick McCallister and Margaret Metcalf both filed along with Josh Denton and Tommy Melton. The four who filed in Columbus will be running for three seats as the seat of Ernie Kan is up but she did not file for reelection this year.

Landry residents have until Aug. 7 at noon to file for elections, which can be done at Landrum City Hall.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

As of Friday, July 19, incumbent mayor Bob Briggs was the only person to file in Landrum. His seat as well as the council seats of Jan Horton, Don Smith and Billy Inman are open this year.

There is not a primary election held for municipal elections that are nonpartisan. This year’s election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.



City of Columbus  

City of Saluda

Town of Tryon
Rick McCallister – Council Johnnie Kinard – Commissioner Wim Woody – Council
Josh Denton – Council Carolyn Ashburn – Commissioner Bill Crowell – Council
Margaret Metcalf – Council George Sweet – Commissioner Happy McLeod – Council
Tommy Melton – Council Karen Bultman – Commissioner Billy Moss – Council
Ellen Rogers – Commissioner Bill Ingham – Council
Mark Oxtoby – Commissioner Doug Arbogast – Council
Eric McIntyre – Mayor Hobart (Sunny) Pace – Commissioner
Alan Peoples – Mayor
Fred Baisden – Mayor Jim Wright – Mayor
Anne Day – Mayor