Races for council in Columbus, Saluda and Tryon

Published 2:12 pm Friday, July 19, 2013

Tryon is only contested mayor

This year’s municipal election will see races in all three Polk towns for council.

The filing period for the towns of Columbus and Tryon and City of Saluda ended on Friday, July 19 with four filing for three council seats in Columbus, six filing for two Tryon council seats and seven filing for two council seats in Saluda.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Tryon Mayor Alan Peoples is the only contested mayor, with he and two others filing.

Columbus Mayor Eric McIntyre and Saluda Mayor Fred Baisden are both running unopposed.

Saluda will see the biggest race in the county for city council with incumbents Johnnie Kinard and George Sweet both filing as well as Carolyn Ashburn, Karen Bultman, Ellen Rogers, Mark Oxtoby and Hobart (Sunny) Pace. In Tryon, incumbents Wim Woody and Doug Arbogast both filed along with Bill Crowell, Happy McLeod, Billy Moss and Bill Ingham.