Celebrate the Summer Solstice with the Maya de Vitry Band at Rogers Park

Published 1:05 pm Monday, June 17, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Summer Tracks is back June 21 


TRYON—On Friday, June 21, the  Summer Tracks concert series in Rogers Park will celebrate the Summer Solstice with the Maya de Vitry Band. The show will begin at 7 p.m.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

With a voice that transcends genre and music that NPR describes as “the perfect soundtrack for uncorking that emotion and (defiantly) loving life again,” Maya de Vitry has produced three acclaimed full-length albums—2019’s Adaptations, 2020’s How to Break a Fall, and 2022’s Violet Light. Her latest album titled The Only Moment will be released July 12, 2024.

As she’s toured the world with her band—featuring Joel Timmons (acoustic and electric guitar, vocals), and Ethan Jodziewicz (upright bass, fretless electric bass)—she’s also shared the stage with John Craigie, Aoife O’Donovan, Mighty Poplar, and The Wood Brothers. Originally from Lancaster, Pa., Maya now lives in Nashville where she collaborates with other artists as a writer, multi-instrumentalist, and producer. 

While Maya’s songs reflect her joy of storytelling and extraordinary musicianship, it’s her voice—even at a whisper—that stops the world from spinning and brings all who are listening into the moment with her. 

New View Realty of Tryon is the concert sponsor for the performance and is also Summer Tracks’ 24th Season Presenting Sponsor. 

The  concert series continues through August. A full schedule including performers bios and photos can be found at www.summertracks.com

In case of rain, concerts will move across the street inside Tryon Fire Dept. Manzolina’s will be selling hotdogs, wraps, ice cream, desserts, water and soft drinks. Alcohol consumption is allowed in the park but is not for sale.  Audience donations along with many local business and individual sponsors make these shows possible. 


Submitted by Peter Eisenbrown