Foothills Music Club Scholarship Awards for 2024

Published 12:17 pm Friday, March 15, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Foothills Music Club is pleased to announce its 2024 scholarship winners following auditions held on March 9.

The recipients of the Lesley Oakes Scholarship were Ella Tokar, Elijah Slates and Cora Moore.   Ella is in tenth grade, home-schooled and studies piano with Dr. Elizabeth Child.

Elijah is also in tenth grade, home-schooled and studies piano with Steve Carson. Cora is a pianist in ninth grade, home-schooled and studies with Dr. Child.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Betty Van Buskirk Scholarship was awarded to Zetta Anderson and Kristopher Brooks. Both Zetta and Kristopher attend Polk County High School and play in the school band under Kimberley Benson’s direction. Zetta, a junior, plays clarinet, and Kristopher, a senior, plays bass clarinet. 

Elizalee Suber received the Kathleen Erwin Scholarship. Elizalee, a clarinetist, is a junior at

Polk County High School and also plays in the band, directed by Kimberley Benson.

An Award of Recognition was presented to Harmony Olson, a ninth-grade clarinet player who is a student at Polk County High School and also a member of the band.

Each year since 1994, the Foothills Music Club has awarded scholarships to qualified young musicians in the area to encourage them to continue their musical studies. Members of the Foothills Music Club and the community provide the funds for scholarships. More than $67,700 has been awarded to date. 


Ella Tokar


Elijah Slates


Cora Moore


Zetta Anderson


Kristopher Brooks


Elizalee Suber


Harmony Olson




Submitted by Jeanette Comer