Early voting begins Thursday

Published 11:38 am Monday, February 12, 2024

Early voting for the upcoming primary election begins February 15 in Polk County and includes candidates running for president, North Carolina governor and several state offices. The early voting period will end on March 2.

Current U.S. President Joe Biden is seeking a second term and is the only candidate listed on the county’s Democratic ballot. On the Republican ballot, voters can choose from seven candidates, including former President Donald Trump, former South Carolina governor Nikki Haley and Ryan Binkley. Chris Christie, Ron DeSantis, Asa Hutchinson and Vivek Ramaswamy are also on the ballot, although they have suspended their campaigns. Ten presidential candidates appear on the Libertarian ballot, including David Dunlap, Jacob Hornberger, Beau Lindsay, Lars Mapstead, Chase Oliver, Michel Rectanwald, Joshua Smith, Mike ter Maat, Toad Anderson and Charles Ballay.

Primary voters who reside in the US Congressional District 14 and will be using the Democratic ballot will have the option to choose between Pam Genant and Brendan K. Maginnis for the US House of Representatives. Republican voters in District 14 may choose between Jeff Gregory, Lillian Joseph and Tim Moore, and Republican voters who reside in US Congressional District 11 may choose between incumbent Chuck Edwards and Christine Reagan.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Primary voters will also have the option to choose the candidates for governor who will face off in the general election in November to replace Gov. Roy Cooper, with Dale R. Follwell, Bill Graham and Mark Robinson appearing on the Republican ballot and Gary Foxx, Mike Morgan, Josh Stein, Marcus Williams and Tryon’s own Chrelle Booker appearing on the Democratic ballot. Libertarian voters may choose between Shannon Bray and Mike Ross.

Eleven candidates for NC Lieutenant Governor are on the Republican ballot, including Rivera Douthit, Jeffrey Elmore, Merlenis Hernandez Novoa, Allen Mashburn, Jim O’Neill, Sam Page, Ernest T. Reeves, Hal Weatherman, Seth Woodall, Deanna Ballard and Peter Boykin. The three candidates on the Democratic ballot are Rachel Hunt, Mark H. Robinson and Ben Clark.

Jeff Jackson, Tim Dunn and Satana Deberry will appear on the Democratic ballot for NC Attorney General.

In the race for NC Commissioner of Insurance, Andrew Marcus, C. Robert Brawley and Mike Causey will appear on the Republican ballot, and Natasha Marcus and David Wheeler will appear on the Democratic ballot. The Republican ballot will feature Charles Dingee, Jim Kee, Anthony Street, Jeff Tarte, Dave Bollek and Jack Clark in the race for NC Auditor and incumbent Steve Troxler and Colby Hammonds in the race for NC Commissioner of Agriculture.

For NC Superintendent of Public Instruction, primary voters can choose between Catherine Truitt and Michelle Morrow on the Republican side, and C.R. Katie Eddings, Maurice Green and Kenon Crumble on the Democratic side. For the NC Treasurer, the Republican ballot will feature A.J. Daoud, Rachel Johnson and Brad Briner, and the Democratic ballot will feature Gabe Esparza and Wesley Harris.

On the Republican ballot, primary voters may choose between Jesse Thomas, Christine Villaverde and Chad Brown for NC Secretary of State, and Luke Farley, John Hardister, Chuck Stanley and Travis Wilson for NC Commissioner of Labor. 

The Republican ballot will also feature Chris Freeman and Hunter Murphy for the NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 15. The Democratic ballot will include Allison Riggs and Lora Christine Cubbage for NC Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 6.

Locally, voters may choose three of the four candidates for Polk County Board of Commissioners on the Republican ballot, which include Jennifer Hargett, Chris Jones, Myron Yoder and Paul (Little) Beiler.

Early voting will take place at the new Board of Elections office located at 231 Ward St. in Columbus. On primary election day, March 5, voters will cast their ballots at their local precincts.

For more information or to view sample ballots, visit polknc.gov.