Landrum Youth Football teams dominate FYFA Championships

Published 4:58 pm Wednesday, November 22, 2023

On Saturday, November 18, five teams fielded by Landrum Youth Association vied for the Foothills Youth Football Association Championships, held at Chesnee High School in Chesnee, SC. Teams ranged from Tag (4-6 yr. olds), 2G tackle (1st and 2nd-graders), 4G tackle (3rd and 4th-graders) and 5G tackle. Teams competed throughout the year in an 18-team league comprised of Youth teams from Spartanburg High, Broome, Inman, Boiling Springs, Chesnee, Gaffney, Blacksburg, Landrum, Blue Ridge and Travelers Rest.

The Flag Championship game was played by two Landrum teams, “Landrum Red” and “Landrum White.” The Landrum Red team emerged victorious, winning 28-14. The Champion Landrum Red team was led by head coach Jeremy Fancher and assistant coaches Josh Ayers and Brandon Moore. The Landrum Red players are: 1 Kendall Wells, 2 Tanner Hyder, 3 Lucas Wagner, 4 Lee Ward, 5 Lucas Sain, 9 Brody Hyder, 11 Reece Fancher, 16 Beau Morris, 19 Chelsea Harris, 20 Graham Dotson and 39 Hudson Ayers. The Landrum Tag Red Team posted a record of 8-0-1 on the season in the championship run. 

The Landrum Tag White Team was led by head coach Lucas Mashtare, Brandon Hyder and Heath Kelly. The Landrum Tag White players are: 1 Cole Howard, 3 Rylan Sexton, 4 Nash Austin, 5 Micah Shook, 6 Bailey Hyder, 7 Seth Curtiss, 8 Kolby Hakala, 12 Wylder Mashtare, 13 Josiah Kelly, 14 Liam Lawter, 34 Hank Bolding, 42 Saplen Coggins and 44 Brantlee Easler, and posted a record of 6-2-1 on the season.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Landrum 2G Team played the Spartanburg Vikings and earned Reserve Championship honors, falling to the Vikings in a 28-21 game. This was the third consecutive year for the Landrum 2G to make it to the Championships, winning the previous 2 years. The 2G team was led by head coach Brandon Provo, and assistant coaches Chad Arledge, Dennis Fletcher and Joel Rains. The 2G players are: 1 Cain Curtiss, 4 Abe Grigg, 5 Zane Fletcher, 6 Noah Pierce, 7 Leo Rains, 8 Waylon Arledge, 9 Cooper McKaig, 10 Brett Barton, 11 Luke Lewellyn, 12 Bennet Henson, 13 Isaak Braverman, 20 Scott Meyer, 21 Kashton Gilfillan, 22 Noah Shanesy, 23 Ryland Burrell, 32 Xander Upton, 39 Melakai Penley, 42 Drake Provo, 55 Alex Rodriguez, 64 Alexander Williams, 65 Gunnar Shehan, 99 Kohen Upton and posted a record of 7-2 on the season.

The Landrum 4G Team played Travelers Rest in the 4G Championships. The Cardinals won in dominating fashion 28-6, to finish off a perfect 9-0 season. The team scored 339 points on the season while only allowing 18 throughout their championship run. Many of the players on the team were members of last year’s team, who also played for the championship vs Chesnee in 2022.

The 3rd-grade class has now won three championships in a row, and has posted perfect records in each of the last three years; totaling 27 wins, 0 losses! 

The 4G Landrum Cardinal Football Team is led by head coach Chad Arledge and assistants Dante Bradshaw, Josh Ayers, Brandon Moore and Jeffrey Robinson. The 4G Champion players are: 1 Kayden Wells, 2 Kayleb Wells, 3 River Nunn, 4 Aiden Snyder, 5 Ike Fancher, 6 Jonah Shook, 7 Wyatt Arledge, 8 Logan Pack, 9 Connor Smith, 10 Micah Moseley, 11 Jackson Mashtare, 12 Eli Greene, 13 Kamden Bradshaw, 15 Blake Wall, 16 Patrick Sexton, 17 Connor McGuire, 19 Thatcher Abuzeid, 20 Declan Smylie, 21 Liam Smylie, 22 Zamien Hall, 23 Samuel Wagner, 24 Michael Shadden, 25 Jordan Johnson, 27 Bentley Kelly, 35 Tucker Ayers, 39 Lucas Penley, 41 Maddox Robinson, 44 Gamble Yelton, 77 Keegan Nodine and 99 Jackson Atkins.

The Landrum 5G Cardinals played the Spartanburg Vikings in the 5G Championships, emerging victorious in a hard-fought 14-6 game played under the lights. Playing in a newly formed division for the Championship, the Cardinals played three 5G teams and six 6G teams throughout the season. The 5G Cardinals posted the best 5G record with a 6-3 season. The 5G champion Cardinals were led by head coach Tony Wells and assistants Jeremey Fancher, Jason Fancher, Dylan Butter, Brandon Ward, Jason McGuire and Phillip Key. The 5G champion Cardinal players are: 1 Kyle Wells, 2 Caidyn Nesbitt, 3 Ali Glover, 4 Brenton Ward, 6 Emmett Monroe, 7 Mason McGuire, 12 Graham Surface, 13 Cooper Ash, 14 Kahlin Roach, 16 Brooks Morris, 17 Wesley Belue, 18 Cole Fancher, 22 Daniel Bohon, 25 Davis Duvall, 28 Johnathon Hayes, 31 Luke Heasley, 44 Nicholas Cason, 52 Joey Donofrio, 54 Harrison Bachelder and 99 Alyson Upton.

Additionally, in the 6G division, Landrum 6G Cardinals played for the Bronze medal position, ultimately falling to the Gaffney Indians. The 6G team was led by head coach Brandon Cannon and assistants Brannon Poore, John Branyon, Tyler Burrell, Eric McCall, Oliver Belue and Scott Painter and posted a 6-3 record for the season. The 6G players are: 00 Austin Bradley, 1 Liam Branyon, 5 Kaden Cannon, 6 Derek Painter, 8 Draven Schott, 9 Grayson Burrell, 10 Kason Crotts, 11 Bowen Belue, 19 Harrison Abuzeid, 20 Logan Mills, 23 Blaise Deluca, 32 Jackson McGraw, 55 Asher Poore, 69 Kade Wybie, 77 Kolton Sweat, 78 Jason Leach and 84 Henry Zipperer.


Submitted by Katie McDaniel