Tryon Concert Association presents violinist Geneva Lewis, pianist Evren Ozel

Published 1:17 pm Monday, January 9, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Tryon Concert Association presents violinist Geneva Lewis in concert. Evren Ozell, pianist, will accompany Ms. Lewis. The concert will take place at the Tryon Fine Arts Center on Tuesday, January 24, at 7:30 p.m. 


Ms. Lewis is a highly-regarded young musician who has garnered awards and accolades for her performances in concert halls in the United States, Europe, and New Zealand. Debuting at age eleven with the Pasadena Pops, she is now the winner of the 2022 Borletti-Buitoni Trust award, the Prince of Hesse Prize in 2021, and the Charlotte F. Rabb Presidential Scholarship at the New England Conservatory. In addition, she received a 2021 Avery Fisher Career Grant and was designated Musical America’s “Artist of the Month.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Founder of the Callisto Trio, which is artist-in-residence at the Da Camera Society in Los Angeles, Ms. Lewis has performed with Glenn Dicterow, Ida Kavafian, Mitsuko Uchida, Miriam Fried, and the Borromeo String Quartet. Dubbed “clearly one to watch” by Musical America, she is noted for her imaginative and compelling programs. Ms. Lewis performs on a Zosimo Bergonzi of Cremona Violin, c. 1770.


Mr. Ozel has performed with major orchestras, including The Cleveland Orchestra and Boston Pops, was featured in ChamberFest Cleveland, and was chosen by Mitsuko Uchida to participate in the Marlboro Music Festival. He is the recipient of the U. S. Chopin Foundation and Young Arts Foundation scholarships, prizes from the 2016 Boston Symphony Concerto Competition, the Thomas and Evan Cooper International Competition, the Dublin International Piano Competition, and the 2020 U. S. National Chopin Competition.


The program consists of diverse and compelling works. First is Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 7, by the contemporary Turkish composer Fazil Say, a piece that combines traditional Turkish folk motifs and modern elements. Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96, follows. An introspective and contemplative work, it was the composer’s last violin sonata. New Zealand composer Douglas Lilburn’s Sonata for Violin and Piano (1950) follows the intermission. Lyricism, soaring melodies, and rich harmonics characterize this lovely piece. Violin Sonata No, 1, Sz. 75, by Béla Bartók concludes the performance. This intense and adventurous work challenges both performers and listeners. Ms. Lewis describes this program as one that “celebrates home and the simple yet profound connections to where we come from.”


For information about this and other TCA concerts, please visit


Submitted by Anne de Sutter