Unofficial results for 2022 midterm general election 

Published 10:32 pm Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Polk voters choose status quo for school board, county commission


POLK COUNTY– Unofficial results are in for the 2022 midterm general election, held Tuesday, Nov. 8. There were 9,555 ballots cast, for a voter turnout of 57.97 percent, in Polk County.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Board of Education

Thirteen candidates vied for 5 seats on the nonpartisan Polk County Schools Board of Education. Voters decided to keep all five incumbents. They are Mike Ashworth, Tryon Township, with 4,057 votes; Danielle Edwards Gibbs, Columbus Township, with 5,676 votes; Judy N. Jackson, Cooper Gap Township with 5,513 votes; Sherry Horne Page, Green Creek Township, with 2,661 votes; and Rob Parsons, Saluda Township, with 3,804 votes.


 Polk County Board of Commissioners

Incumbents Tommy Melton (R), David Moore (R) and Paul (Little) Beiler (R) were the top vote getters in a field of 5 candidates, with 5,278, 5,108 and 4,842 votes respectively. 

In other races, Polk Sheriff Timothy Wright (R) ran unopposed for a second term. He received 6,970 votes. Pam Hyder (D) ran unopposed for Polk County Clerk of Superior Court and received 6,280 votes.

As of press time, federal and state races had not been called. The Bulletin will have more election coverage online and in the weekend paper, including results of the state and federal races, and a breakdown of local data.