Tryon Concert Association presents The Academy of St Martin in the Fields Wind Ensemble

Published 12:03 pm Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Academy of St Martin in the Fields Wind Ensemble will perform on Monday, April 18, at 7:30 in the evening, at the Tryon Fine Arts Center. This marks the last concert of TCA’s 2021-2022 subscription series

The Academy of St Martin in the Fields Wind Ensemble is making its American debut with pianist Simon Crawford-Phillips as a fifth member of the ensemble. Several members of the ensemble will be familiar to Tryon concert-goers, and TCA is pleased to welcome them back to Tryon.

Clarinetist James Burke is principal clarinetist with the Academy and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Oboist Tom Bloomfield holds the title Joint Principal Oboe of the Philharmonia Orchestra. Bassoonist Julie Price has been the principal bassoonist with the English Chamber Orchestra since 1994. Stephen Stirling, on horn, has performed with major orchestras and chamber ensembles and is Professor of Horn at Trinity College of Music in London.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The ensemble will be joined by pianist Simon Crawford-Phillips for this performance. Mr. Crawford-Phillips has distinguished himself as chamber musician, soloist, and conductor who has played in major European and North American venues. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music and teaches at the Gothenburg Academy of Music and in master classes.

The program includes Carl Reinecke’s Trio for Oboe, Horn, and Piano, Op. 188, a work by the respected German composer who studied with Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Liszt. Next to be performed is Mozart’s Quintet for Winds and Piano in E-flat Major, K. 452, a work Mozart considered one of his finest. The Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat Major by Brahms follows. This piece was composed after Brahms emerged from his self-imposed retirement and reflects his most mature and sophisticated work. The final work, Quintet for Winds and Piano in E-flat Major, Op. 16, by Beethoven, written when the composer was 26 and before he had achieved acclaim for his symphonic works, foreshadows the instrumental sonorities of his later works.


For more information about this and other TCA concerts, please visit


-Submitted by Anne De Sutter