First to file

Published 11:45 am Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Commissioner, sheriff, clerk, school board candidates begin filing

COLUMBUS—Filing for the 2022 election began Monday with several candidates filing for local races. 

Polk County Commissioner candidates as of Monday include democrats Ray Gasperson and Andy Millard and incumbent republicans David Moore, Tommy Melton and Paul (Little Beiler). 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Incumbent Polk County Clerk of Superior Court Pam Hyder, a democrat, filed for re-election Monday. 

For Polk County Sheriff, incumbent republican sheriff Tim Wright filed for re-election along with challenger, also a republican, Daniel Elliott. 

For the Polk County School Board, 3 challengers filed on Monday. Dee Obrien filed for the Coopers Gap Township, Sydney Holbert filed for the Green Creek Township and Jolene Williams filed for the Tryon Township. As of 5 p.m. Monday, no incumbents had filed for the school board, which include Judy Jackson for Coopers Gap, Sherry Page for Green Creek and Mike Ashworth for Tryon. 

Filing for the 2022 election will continue through Friday, Dec. 17 at noon. For the local elections, filing can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the 2nd floor of the Womack building in Columbus.