Early voting slow going 

Published 10:29 pm Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Only 26 total voters so far for 2021 municipal election

POLK COUNTY—Early voting for this year’s municipal election began last Thursday and so far the votes are slowly rolling in. 

According to the Polk County of Elections Office, there have been a total of 26 early votes for the towns of Columbus and Tryon and the City of Saluda. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Columbus has had the most votes at 15 total. There have been 3 votes cast for the Columbus 7 precinct and 12 votes cast for the Columbus 8 precinct. 

Tryon has had 8 early voters and Saluda has had 3 early voters. The totals were as of Tuesday morning. 

Early voting will continue until Oct. 30. 

The only race this year in the county will be between incumbent Saluda Mayor Fred Baisden and challenger Tangie Morgan. 

Early voting can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus. 

Voting can be done at the elections office on weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Saturday, Oct. 30 from 8 a.m.-3 p.m. 

Only incumbents filed for the Town of Tryon, including mayor Alan Peoples and commissioners Bill Crowell and Bill Ingham. 

In Columbus, mayor Pat McCool filed for re-election and incumbent councilman Richard Hall and Mark Phillips. Councilman Robert Williamson did not file for re-election but Becky Kennedy filed to fill his seat. 

Saluda commissioners Paul Marion and Mark Oxtoby both filed for re-election with no challengers. 

In the Town of Columbus, the mayor seat is open for a 2-year term and 3 council seats are available. The top vote-getter for council will receive a 4-year term and the next 2 will receive 2-year terms. 

In the City of Saluda, the mayor seat and 2 commissioner seats are available. 

The mayor seat in Saluda is a 4-year term as well as the 2 commissioner seats. 

In the Town of Tryon, the mayor seat is open as well as 2 commissioner seats. The mayor seat in Tryon is for 2 years, while the 2 commissioner seats are 4-year terms. 

Election Day for the municipal election is Nov. 2, 2021. 

For more information about the municipal election this year visit polknc.org or call the elections office at 828-894-8181.