Only 1 race

Published 10:07 pm Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Municipal filing ends with mostly incumbents

POLK COUNTY—Polk County’s towns will have only 1 race this year for the municipal election and that is for the Saluda mayor. 

Filing ended Friday for the towns of Columbus and Tryon and City of Saluda with the only race being between incumbent Saluda Mayor Fred Baisden and challenger Tangie Morgan. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Only incumbents filed for the Town of Tryon, including mayor Alan Peoples and commissioners Bill Crowell and Bill Ingham. 

In Columbus, mayor Pat McCool filed for re-election and incumbent councilmen Richard Hall and Mark Phillips. Councilman Robert Williamson did not file for re-election but Becky Kennedy filed to fill his seat. 

Saluda commissioners Paul Marion and Mark Oxtoby both filed for re-election with no challengers. 

In the Town of Columbus, the mayor seat is open for a 2-year term and 3 council seats available. The top vote getter for council will receive a 4-year term and the next 2 will receive 2-year terms. 

In the City of Saluda, the mayor seat and 2 commissioner seats are available. 

The mayor seat in Saluda is a 4-year term as well as the 2 commissioner seats. 

In the Town of Tryon, the mayor seat is open as well as 2 commissioner seats. The mayor seat in Tryon is for 2 years, while the 2 commissioner seats are 4-year terms. 

Election Day for the municipal election is Nov. 2, 2021. 

For more information about the municipal election this year or to see who has filed, visit or call the elections office at 828-894-8181.