First to file

Published 10:08 pm Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Filing began last week for 2021 municipal election

POLK COUNTY—As of Tuesday afternoon, there had been 6 people to file for Polk County’s municipal election. 

Filing for the election began on Friday and so far, Columbus Mayor Patrick McCool had filed for re-election as well as Rebecca Kennedy, a newcomer for town council. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In Saluda, commissioner Paul Marion filed for re-election and in Tryon, Mayor Alan Peoples and commissioners Bill Ingham and Bill Crowell had filed for re-election. 

Filing for the municipal election is open until July 16 at 12 p.m. Filing can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus. 

In the Town of Columbus, there is the mayor seat open for a 2-year term and 3 council seats available. Current Mayor McCool is up for re-election along with council members Mark Phillips, Richard Hall and Robert Williamson. The top vote getter for council will receive a 4-year term and the next 2 will receive 2-year terms. 

In the City of Saluda, the mayor seat and 2 commissioner seats are available. 

Current Saluda Mayor Fred Baisden is up for re-election along with the seats of commissioners Mark Oxtoby and Marion. The mayor seat in Saluda is a 4-year term as well as the 2 commissioner seats. 

In the Town of Tryon, the mayor seat is also up for re-election as well as 2 commissioner seats. Current Tryon Mayor Peoples is up for re-election as well as commissioners Crowell and Ingham. The mayor seat in Tryon is for 2 years, while the 2 commissioner seats are 4-year terms. 

The filing fee for the municipal seats in Polk County are $5 to be paid at the time of filing. Any candidate that raises or spends money or makes a public announcement that they intend to run must file campaign finance paperwork with the Polk County Board of Elections within 10 days of the announcement. 

Election Day for the municipal election is Nov. 2, 2021. 

For more information about the municipal election this year, visit or call the elections office at 828-894-8181.