Republicans sweep Polk

Published 11:08 pm Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Yoder high vote getter; Gasperson out

POLK COUNTY—Polk County Republicans swept the county for Tuesday’s election with all 3 republican county commissioner candidates taking the seats. 

Myron Yoder, the current board chairman was high vote getter with 6,784 votes; Andre Overholt was 2nd high vote getter with 6,712 votes and David Moore was 3rd with 6,197 votes, according to unofficial results Tuesday night from the Polk County Board of Elections. Yoder and Overholt won 4-year terms while Moore won a 2-year term. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Incumbent Democrat Ray Gasperson lost with 5,570 votes, which was 627 votes behind Moore. 

Polk County also heavily favored republicans in federal and state races, including for President Donald Trump over challenger Joe Biden. Trump took Polk County by more than 3,000 votes with 7,643 votes, compared to Biden’s 4,485 votes. 

Thom Tillis also won in Polk County for U.S. Senate over Cal Cunningham with 7,350 votes to Cunningham’s 4,407 votes and Madison Cawthorn won over Moe Davis for the U.S. House of Representatives District 11 in Polk County by 7,470 votes to 4,337 votes. 

Tillis was winning over Cunningham statewide as of press time Tuesday night, as well as Cawthorn beating Davis statewide

Republican Dan Forest won over incumbent Democrat Governor Roy Cooper in Polk County with 7,237 votes to Cooper’s 4,830 votes in Polk County. Cooper was winning the governor seat statewide by 2,546,279 votes to Forest’s 2,213,481 votes as of press time Tuesday night. 

Former Polk County Commissioner Jake Johnson also won the North Carolina House of Representative District 113 seat in Polk County over Sam Edney by 7,613 votes to 4,404 votes. 

Statewide, Johnson was winning the state seat by 30,215 votes to Edney’s 20,500 votes, according to unofficial results as of press time. 

Official results were not available as of press time and provisional ballots were still out. The Polk County Board of Elections will do its official canvassing of the votes to make them official next Friday, Nov. 13.