Tryon Hounds Fall Hunter Pace and Trail Ride

Published 11:03 am Monday, November 2, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

One could not have asked for a more perfect day for a Hunter Pace! The weather was gorgeous, starting off a little cool but warming up very nicely, and the setting nothing short of picture perfect! 

The Trail Design was wonderful and was a very easy ride. The trail took riders through the woods and on the edges of fields. There were two wooden bridges to cross in the woods. The word heard from incoming riders was that the trails were outstanding!

As everyone surely misses Lou Smith taking pictures at the Hunter Paces, Don West and Mark Jump were snapping photos of riders throughout the trail ride.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Without a landowner’s blessing to ride on their property, a Hunter Pace would be pretty short. But not today! The Tryon Hounds Hunter Pace would like to thank Jim Cothran, The Red Horse Inn, Michelle and Kevin Sumner, The Meadows of Campbell Creek, Penny Dean, Richard Kugler, Tom Henderson and Roger Wolters for allowing passage on their properties. 

There was a total of 122 riders in 62 teams riding the 6.75-mile trail.

In the Field Hunter Division there were 45 riders in 23 teams. The Optimum Time was 57:59.

First Place Honors were awarded to Diane Hicks from Pendleton with the time of 01:01:06. Debbie Croft and Nora Claire Croft from Anderson nabbed the Second-Place red ribbon with the time of 01:02:07. Third Place was awarded to the duo of Marcia Headrick and Richard Neel from Townville. Their time was 01:02:12. Fourth Place was awarded to a quintet with the time of 01:02:27. Jessica Boskovich, Mackenzie Crowder and Morgan Willard from Waxhaw and Carol Land and Audrey Vaca from Marvin made up this team. In Fifth Place was the team of Britney Clark and Devon Tracy from Columbia with a time of 01:03:21. Rounding out the placements for Sixth Place were Natalie Lane and Susan Russell from Tryon with the time of 01:06:45. The team of Karolin Eichler and Gabrielle Grubic, both from Rock Hill, received an Honorable Mention with the time of 01:06:59.

In the Trail Rider Division there were 66 riders in 31 teams. The Calculated Optimum Time was 01:43:50. 

First Place Honors were awarded to Karen Merrill and Teresa Snyder from York with a time of 01:44:05. There was a tie for the Second Pace red ribbons with both teams finishing at 01:45:12. Nancy Erny and Carolyne Groves from Simpsonville scored with the time of 01:42:28. The team of Morgan Brink from Advance and Rachel Fischer from Lexington scored with the time of 1:45:12. Fourth Place was awarded to Susan Angermeier from Chesnee and Debbie Fowler from Spartanburg with the time of 01:45:22. Ryleigh Bodde from North and Kay Dooley from St. Matthews were awarded the Fifth Place slot with the time of 01:46:10. Rounding out the placements in the Trail Rider Division, and taking Sixth place honors, were Bob and Tamara Bruning from Columbus with a time of 01:40:58.

There were seven riders in the Mini-Pace Division. Gail Benner, Kate Coldren, Cathy Davis, Nancy Hasselbring, Elaine Hobbs, Kristin Kuhns and Mary Macy rode on the abbreviated trail, which was part of the overall trail ride. 

Last but certainly not least are the riders in the WINGS Division. Receiving First Place Honors was Elise Rogers from Columbus with the time of 44:32. Solo Rider Shannon Jackson from Ellenboro placed Second with the time of 48:38. Jane Barrett and John Chatterton from Columbus received Third Place with the time of 01:01:36. 

Check the website at for upcoming events, changes and to view your photos taken by Photographer Lou Smith. With the weather being so unpredictable here of late, rain dates are in place in case of a postponement.


Submitted by Missy Bright