Absentee ballots begin

Published 1:21 pm Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Applications being accepted for run-off election

COLUMBUS—The Polk County Board of Elections is now taking requests for absentee ballots for the Congressional District 11 run-off, now scheduled for June 23.

The republican primary run-off was originally scheduled for May 12. The run-off is between Lynda Bennett and Madison Cawthorn.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Polk County is currently part of District 10, but with the redistricting last year was put into District 11 for the U.S. House of Representatives.

Absentee ballots are available for any reason. They must be requested for the run-off by 5 p.m. on June 16.

Request forms are available on the home page at polknc.org and well as the board of elections page under the department tab. Request forms can also be mailed to residents by calling the Polk County Board of Elections during operating hours at 828-894-8181.

The board of elections office is currently closed to visitors, but county officials said staff can meet people at the front door of the Womack building if necessary. The Womack building is located at 40 Courthouse Street, Columbus.

To vote in the run-off, residents must be either registered republican or registered unaffiliated who did not vote on the democratic ticket during the March primary.

Other registrations and residents not registered to vote at the time of the March primary will not be eligible to vote in the June 23 run-off.

Early voting will be available for the primary run-off. Early voting will begin on June 4 and will end on June 20. Voting will take place at the Womack building from 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. on weekdays during early voting and on the final Saturday from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. on June 20.

All Polk County precincts are scheduled to be open on primary run-off election day, Tuesday, June 23 from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m.

Residents can also request absentee ballots now for the Nov. 3 presidential, state and county election with a different form.