Nominations for the 2020 Eaves Award are open

Published 12:57 pm Monday, February 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Nominations for the 2020 Robert Wendell Eaves Award for Distinguished Teaching at Isothermal Community College will be taken until Friday, April 3.
The award is given each year to an instructor who demonstrates excellence in teaching and a true zeal for service to students. In 1982, the honor was established by the Eaves family in memory of Dr. Eaves and his distinguished career in education. 

Each year, the recipient is selected by a committee composed of past award recipients from nominations submitted by students, alumni, college personnel and members of the general public.
Any full-time employee of Isothermal who spends at least 25 percent of his or her time on the job in teaching is eligible for the award. Faculty members of the Eaves selection committee are not eligible as candidates for the award. For this year, Nathan Fisher, Scott Hutchins, Loreen Smith, Marisa Sudano, Jeremy Burris and Rebecca Haney are not eligible.
Nominations may be completed online at

Past winners have included Ruth Boehning, Vivian Sitton, Clara Fowler, Chris Koone, Carol Jones, Pete Golden, Aubrey Calton, Myra Johnson, Bill McDaniel, Dean Byrd, Gary Shipley, Mike Croussore, Lowery Luckadoo, Jay Coomes, Rhonda Davis, Cathy Alexander, Debbie Puett, Scott Bradey, Jeremiah Councill, Donna Harrison, Tim Beaver, Brett Parker, Amber Thompson, Melissa Johnson, Nathan Fisher, Scott Hutchins, Loreen Smith, Marisa Sudano, Jeremy Burris and last year’s winner, Rebecca Haney.
For more information, contact Loreen Smith, 2020 Eaves chairperson, at 828-395-1461 or

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Submitted by Mike Gavin