Members honored at Glassy Mountain FSA banquet

Published 10:46 pm Monday, December 9, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A festive night of extraordinary cuisine, challenging words and therapeutic laughter was enjoyed by the members of the Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area (GMFSA). They gathered at the Cliffs Valley Clubhouse for their Annual Awards Banquet to honor the men and women who selflessly serve their community.


The ceremony began with longevity awards with Commissioners Dwight Hammack, Jim White and Carl Roed being honored for their service to the department as elected officials. All three men have been re-elected and will continue to serve through 2023. Also recognized were Capt. Greg Lamb and EMT Laurie-Anne Staples for five years of service. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


The honors continued with the pinning of several new firefighters: Kyle Talbott, Randy Crain and Tyler Pittman. Several members were also pinned due to recent promotions: Chaplain Mark Shaver, Engineer/Paramedic Jonathan Gilbert and Engineer/Paramedic Ed Timblin.


After the pinning and promotions, Fire Commissioner Chairman, Dwight Hammack, gave a compelling speech on the value of the community and the value of the department’s service to the community. Newly appointed Chaplain, Mark Shaver, also gave an introductory speech to his fellow firefighters and challenged them to consider their own care, “After the Call.” 


The night concluded with the “Of the Year” awards which are chosen by majority vote of the members of the department to recognize outstanding service for the year. This year’s awardees were: Connor Christie, Cadet of the Year, Mark Smith, Volunteer of the Year, Mark Shaver, Rookie of the Year, Jonathan Gilbert, Career Firefighter of the Year, Capt. Russell Rafferty, Officer of the Year, and FF/Paramedic Don Blanchard received the “Chief’s Award.” This year’s Team Award was given to Capt. Greg Lamb, Capt. Michael Countryman, ENG Don Jeffers, ENG Jonathan Gilbert, FF Mark Smith, Gerald Gaige, Chief Staples and EMT Laurie-Anne Staples for their outstanding performance on a fire call in the Oak Grove Area of the district.




Submitted by Kelley Murphy