County has new chair

Published 11:37 am Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Polk appoints Myron Yoder as chairman

COLUMBUS—Polk County has a new board of commissioner chair. 

The board of commissioners met Monday and appointed former vice chairman Myron Yoder as the new chairman and former chair Tommy Melton as the new vice chairman. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Melton served the last year as chairman. 

Melton said it has been his pleasure to serve as the chairman during 2019. 

“No words will express how wonderful this board has been,” Melton said. 

He also said he cannot thank county manager Marche Pittman and county clerk Ange High for their help. He spoke to each commissioner, starting with commissioner Ray Gasperson. Melton said Gasperson is a great commissioner, has done a great job and Melton really enjoyed working with him. 

To commissioner David Moore, Melton said Moore is a good Christian man and he really looks forward to working with him again. 

To commissioner Paul Beiler, Melton said he loves Beiler and his family, that he is a Christian and that is what the board needs. 

To Yoder, Melton said he’s known him for 3 years and Yoder has shown him how diligent he is and how knowledgeable he is. Melton said Yoder has children in school and is a Christian and nominated Yoder to be the new chair. 

Yoder took over the meeting and thanked the board for the nomination and their confidence in him. 

“I want the board to know one thing,” Yoder said. “It takes all five of us. “I have a lot of confidence in you guys.” 

Yoder said if he makes a mistake he knows he has four guys behind him, the county manager, the county attorney and last, but not least, clerk High. 

“She has everything set up,” Yoder said. “I don’t even have to think up here.” 

Yoder was elected to his first four-year term in 2016. He is up for re-election in 2020 and filed on Monday to run for his second term. 

Melton was the high vote getter in 2018. 

Commissioners normally appoint a new chairman every year.