Improving Polk Middle wrestlers close gap on Apple Valley, despite loss

Published 8:00 am Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Polk County Middle’s wrestling team continued Thursday to show its progress this season.

True, the Wolverines dropped a 60-39 decision to Apple Valley in a Blue Ridge Athletic Conference match at Polk. But after an 84-18 loss to the Knights earlier in the season, Polk had ample reason to be encouraged, despite the outcome.

“Huge improvement from the last time we were facing them,” said Polk Middle head coach Jerry Cox.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Wolverines also forfeited five classes, those 30 points helping decide the match.

Polk’s Angus Weaver recorded a pin at 162 points to improve to 5-0 on the season, with Bryan Sumano posting a fall at 134 points to up his record to 5-1.

Casey Beiler also improved to 5-1 with the match of the day, a battle at 147 pounds with Christian Jewell that went into overtime. Neither wrestler scored in the one-minute sudden death period, leading to two 30-second periods.

Beiler was able to record a takedown just before the end of the first 30-second period, then held on for a 6-4 decision.

Bryan Tuffill and Topher Pearson also won their matches via pin, while A.J. Waters and Tevis Jobe were winners by forfeit.

The Wolverines were back in action on Monday, traveling to Hendersonville Middle.

Apple Valley 60, Polk County 39

78: Tevis Jobe (PC) by forfeit

85: Topher Pearson (PC) p. Seth Eaton

92: Daniel Figueroa (AV) p. Ben Thompson

100: Darian Guido (AV) by forfeit

108: Henry Portella (AV) p. Bryson Rickman

115: Tyson Norris (AV) p. Brayden Gartzman

122: Gasper Castro (AV) by forfeit

128: David Benjamin (AV) p. Jesus Sumano

134: Bryan Sumano (PC) p. Dorian Sepulveda

140: Taylor Vorbrick (AV) p. John Wright

147: Casey Beiler (PC) d. Christian Jewell, 6-4

154: Reece Meadows (AV) p. Obed Najera

162: Angus Weaver (PC) p. Julio Lopez

172: Bryan Tuffill (PC) p. Caesar Rodriguez

184: Tucker Limberg (AV) by forfeit

197: Jed Harris (AV) by forfeit

222: Jose Hamrick (AV) by forfeit

285: A.J. Waters (PC) by forfeit

– Submitted by