Six Wolverines named to all-WHC Football list; player earns co-Lineman of the Year

Published 8:00 am Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Polk County senior Luke Sellers has been named the Western Highlands Conference co-Lineman of the Year.

Sellers shared the honor with Mitchell’s Hudson Boone. The senior anchored both the Wolverine offensive and defensive lines as Polk County reached the third round of the state 1AA playoffs for just the second time in school history.

Five other Wolverines Logan Conner, Ryan Heider, Daniel Ruff, Trey Thompson and Mitchell Yoder earned all-conference selection.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Mountain Heritage’s Joey Robinson was named the league’s coach of the year, with the Cougars’ Zeb Virnelson named the WHC player of the year and teammate London Neill the defensive player of the year. Mitchell’s Noah Pitman was named offensive player of the year, with teammates Elliott Kadans named the special teams player of the year and Tyler McKinney the athlete of the year.

Western Highlands Conference

2018 All-Conference

Avery: Lucas Andrews, Eli Hayes and Sam McCollum

Madison: Colby Arnett, Clark Gray and Matthew Wallace

Mitchell: Hudson Boone, Yahir Cervantes, Matthew Gilbert, Garrett Greene, Hunter Johnson, Elliott Kadans, Tyler McKinney, Landon Miller, Noah Pitman, Michael Robertson and Ty Sparks

Mountain Heritage: Brandon Aumiller, Jake Autrey, Kason Hall, Keaton Hall, Tanner Honeycutt, Jacob Mashburn, London Neill, Callin Randolph, Cole Shehan, Gabe Silver, Zeb Virnelson and Isaiah Watts

Owen: Jaylin Davidson, Ty Davidson, Otis Mallory, Audum Meyers and Frank Walsh

Polk County: Logan Conner, Ryan Heider, Daniel Ruff, Luke Sellers, Trey Thompson and Mitchell Yoder

– Submitted by