Local voters elect Republican incumbents in state, federal races

Published 8:00 am Wednesday, November 7, 2018

In addition to several key local races, voters in Polk County and Landrum were asked to decide a number of federal and state-level races in North and South Carolina during Tuesday’s midterm election.

In Polk County, Republican candidates dominated the ballot, with voters selecting incumbent Patrick McHenry to serve in the U.S. House of Representatives and GOP incumbents Ralph Hise and Cody Henson to serve in the North Carolina Senate and House, respectively, according to unofficial results. Projected vote totals also showed South Carolina incumbent Gov. Henry McMaster securing his seat in the governor’s mansion in Columbia.

In the North Carolina 10th Congressional District race, McHenry defeated Democrat challenger David Wilson Brown to secure his seventh term in the U.S House of Representatives, winning 59 percent of the vote compared to Brown’s 40 percent. The 10th District includes all of Polk County, with McHenry capturing 60 percent of the local vote.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

McHenry, the Republican chief deputy whip in the House, has served in Washington since 2004.

In the North Carolina State Senate District 47 race, Hise defeated Democrat David Wheeler to secure his fifth term in the General Assembly, winning 62 percent of the vote compared to Wheeler’s 37 percent. District 47 includes all of Polk County, with Hise taking 58 percent of the local vote.

In the North Carolina State House of Representatives District 113 race, Henson defeated Democrat challenger Sam Edney to win his second term in the General Assembly, winning 57 percent of the vote compared to his opponent’s 42 percent. District 113 also includes all of Polk County, with 58 percent of local voters voting for Henson.

In the South Carolina gubernatorial race, Republican incumbent Henry McMaster was projected to defeat Democrat challenger James Smith, according to the Associated Press.

McMaster has served as governor since 2017, assuming the office after previous governor Nikki Haley resigned in order to become the U.S. ambassador to the United Nations. With his victory Tuesday, McMaster secured a full four-year term to office.

Voting data for the Landrum area was unavailable as of press time.

Other contested state and federal races on local ballots were undecided as of press time. Results of these races will be published in Thursday’s Bulletin.