Polk adds fourth member to local board of elections

Published 8:00 am Friday, April 6, 2018

COLUMBUS — North Carolina changed the structure of county boards of elections last month, so Polk County added a fourth member to its former board of three.

On March 27, the newly seated North Carolina Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement appointed the four-member boards of each county.

Polk County appointed new member Renee McDermott to the board of elections.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Polk also retained current members David Moore, Scott Woodworth and Sharon Goettert.

The SBOEEE required that county boards meet and select a chair, vice chair and secretary on April 2. This year, the law required the chair to be a member of the Democrat Party and the vice chair to be a member of the Republican Party.

Polk County’s BOE unanimously appointed Goettert as chair, Moore as vice chair and McDermott as secretary.

Polk County Board of Elections Director Cliff Marr said the first public meeting where business will be conducted is scheduled for Tuesday at 6 p.m.

Meetings are held in the board of elections office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus.