Candidate filing for 2018 election ended Wednesday

Published 8:00 am Friday, March 2, 2018

COLUMBUS — The list of election candidates was made final at noon on Wednesday, with five candidates running for three Polk County Board of Commissioner seats and four candidates running for Polk County Sheriff.

The only primary for local elections will be for the sheriff, with a primary needed for both Democrat and Republican tickets as two candidates filed for each party.

Carolyn Ashburn (D), Chrelle Booker (D), Ray Gasperson (D), Paul Beiler (R) and Tommy Melton (R) filed to fill three commissioner seats. Gasperson and Melton are incumbents. Current commissioner Shane Bradley, who was up for re-election, did not file this year.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

No primary is needed for the commissioner race, as not more than three people filed for either party.

For sheriff, B.J. Bayne (D), Ronnie Smith (D), Darryl Bailey (R) and Tim Wright (R) filed. A primary will be needed to narrow the candidates to one for each party for the November election.

Current sheriff Donald Hill (D) did not seek re-election.

Current Polk County Clerk of Court Pam Hyder (D) was the only one to file for her seat, so she will run unopposed in November.

There will also be no races for the Polk County School Board, as incumbents Geoffrey Tennant (Columbus Township), Judy Jackson (Coopers Gap Township) and Sherry Page (Green Creek Township) all filed for re-election, as well as Michael Ashworth filing for the Tryon Township seat. Current Tryon Township school board member Jim Patterson did not seek re-election. No challengers filed this year.

Candidates filing for state races include for U.S. House of Representatives District 10, with David Wilson Brown (D), Gina Collias (R), incumbent Patrick McHenry (R), Jeff Gregory (R), Ira Roberts (R) and Seth Blankenship (R) filing.

A primary will be needed for the Republican candidate.

For N.C. Senate District 47, Cheryl D. Swofford (D), Christoper H. Rumfelt (D) and incumbent Ralph Hise (R) filed. A primary will be needed to pick one Democrat.

For North Carolina House of Representatives District 113, Sam Edney (D) filed to run against incumbent Cody Henson (R) in November.

For District Attorney District 42, Mary Ann J. Hollocker (R) filed to run against incumbent Greg Newman (R). No Democrats filed for district attorney.

The primary election is scheduled for May 8. Early voting for the primary will begin on April 19 and end on May 5.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 6, with early voting from Oct. 18-Nov. 3.

For more information about the upcoming election, call the Polk County Board of Elections Office at 828-894-8181 or visit 

Polk County
election candidates

Polk County Commissioner

Carolyn Ashburn (D)

Chrelle Booker (D)

Ray Gasperson (D)

Paul Beiler (R)

Tommy Melton (R)

Polk County Sheriff

B.J. Bayne (D)

Ronnie Smith (D)

Darryl Bailey (R)

Tim Wright (R)

Polk County Clerk of Court

Pam Hyder (D)

Polk County School Board

Michael Ashworth—Tryon

Judy Jackson—Coopers Gap

Sherry Page—Green Creek

Geoffrey Tennant—Columbus