Three new members sworn into Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area Board

Published 4:23 pm Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Three new members elected to the 2018 Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area Board of Commissioners were recently sworn in by Greenville County Councilor Joe Dill. Sworn in were, from left: Councilor Dill (District 17), Andrea Martin (Travelers Rest), William (Bill) Atkins (Landrum) and Richard (Dick) Dusa (Travelers Rest). The three join Chairman Dwight Hammack (Travelers Rest), Carl Roed (Travelers Rest); Jim White (Landrum); and Treasurer Richard Baker (Travelers Rest), on the board. The Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area was established in 1987 to organize a volunteer fire department to provide fire/safety protection and a first response emergency unit within the community. The Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area covers nearly 52 square miles, with a population of approximately 3,000 residents in the area known as The Dark Corner in northern Greenville County, which stretches from the east at the Spartanburg County line on Highway 14, to the west of Highway 25 and begins in the south near Highway 414 to the North Carolina state line.  The District operates five fire stations: Glassy Mountain (Headquarters), Beaver Dam, Oak Grove, Dividing Water and Cliffs, with approximately 50 career and volunteer firefighters, and first responders. (Submitted photo)

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox