Glassy Mountain Fire Department honors firefighters

Published 4:23 pm Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Glassy Mountain Fire Department honored its firefighters during its Annual Christmas and Awards Banquet in December.  Lieutenant/Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Chadler McMakin (Taylors) was named Cadet of the Year; Firefighter (FF)/Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Hunter Ward (Travelers Rest) was named Rookie of the Year; Firefighter/EMT Donald Blanchard (Greer) was named Volunteer of the Year; Captain Caleb Palmer (Greenville) was named Career Firefighter of the Year; Captain Greg Lamb (Tigerville) was named Officer of the Year and Captain Russell Rafferty (Greer) received the Fire Chief’s Award. 

Five-year length of service awards were presented to FF/EMR Mark Smith, EMR Eric McCarson, FF/EMR John Roggy, PM Sybil Russell, SGT-PM Shawn Jenkins, FF Nick Adams and FF Gerald Gaige.  Ten-year length of service awards were presented to Engineer/PM Donald Jeffers and Webmaster Jerry Bender. 

The Call of the Year Award was the Department’s response to Tropical Storm Irma on September 11 – 12, 2017.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Guest Speaker was Joe Palmer, Executive Director of the South Carolina State Firefighters’ Association. 

Outgoing Commissioners Jewell Bayne (Travelers Rest) and Dennis Geagan (Landrum) were also honored.

– submitted by Sharyn Arnold