Polk places seven on all-WHC football squad

Published 4:52 pm Thursday, December 7, 2017

Overholt named league’s top athlete

Polk County has placed seven players on the 2017 all-Western Highlands Conference football team.

Seniors Dillon Overholt, Devin Panchyshyn, Austin Wilson and Braden Miller, juniors Hayden Shumate and Elijah Sutton and sophomore Bryson Seay each received selection to the all-WHC squad.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Overholt was chosen by league coaches as the WHC Athlete of the Year. The senior threw for 629 yards and 11 touchdowns on 51-of-121 attempts, rushed for 805 yards and seven touchdowns on 128 carries, caught 13 passes for 229 yards and three touchdowns, recorded 96 tackles, two interceptions and a fumble recovery and had a punt return for a touchdown.

Other athletes winning awards included:

Player of the Year: Trey Robinson, Mountain Heritage

Offensive Player of the Year: Ben Young, Mitchell

Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Robinson, Mountain Heritage

Lineman of the Year: Zeb Virnelson, Mountain Heritage

Coach of the Year: Joey Robinson, Mountain Heritage

– submitted by PolkSports.com