TFAC hosts reception for educator grant recipients

Published 5:42 pm Friday, September 8, 2017

Be Inspired Grant recipients attend reception at TFAC 

Tryon Fine Arts Center, in collaboration with many generous sponsors, hosted a reception on August 23 for all the teachers who received a Be Inspired Grant for 2017-2018.

The Be Inspired Grant (BIG) aims to further creative teaching by awarding educators up to $500 for each art related project submitted. Teachers in Polk, Spartanburg, Rutherford and Henderson Counties are encouraged to participate by submitting their applications in the spring of each year.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“We want to help the dedicated, creative teachers who might otherwise purchase educational supplies with their own personal funds or be unable to provide the arts experience,” explains TFAC Board President Jeff Byrd. BIG endeavors to promote creativity in the classroom, encouraging educators to continually find new and innovative ways for students to learn.

The 2017-2018 grant recipients were Denise Kennedy of Polk County Middle School, Kellianne Floyd and McKensie Revels of New Prospect Elementary School, Hilary Colwell-Wilcox of Hendersonville Elementary School, Stephanie Uhrich and Ellen Rogers of Saluda Elementary School, Julia Sullivan of Holly Springs-Motlow Elementary School, Susie Walker and Sarah Bennett of Polk Central Elementary School, Gigi D’Ambrosio of Inman Elementary School, and Colleen Stutts and Dana Hodge of Campobello-Gramling School.

BIG is generously sponsored by Duke Energy, TD Bank, Rotary Club of Tryon Foundation, McKinsey Printing, Kiwanis Club of Tryon, Main Street Insurance, Sharon and Andy Millard, Carole and Chris Bartol, Gay and Scott Pleune, Kathyand Jim Wright, Lois Barrick, Lucy and Tim Brannon, Clara and Wayne Rogers, Tara and Drew Brannon, Helen and Jeff Byrd, Linda and Andy Haynes, Amber Keeran and Jeff Jenkins, Beth and Chuck Rounds, SueZ and Dave Truitt, and anonymous donations.

For more information about the Be Inspired Grant and other events at Tryon Fine Arts Center visit

– submitted by Michelle Fleming