New Hall of Fame Honors Carolinas Show Hunters

Published 9:41 am Friday, June 16, 2017

Story by Judy Heinrich

About 150 people attended a star-studded ceremony on June 9 to induct the first class of Tryon Riding & Hunt Club’s new Carolinas Show Hunter Hall of Fame. 2017 Inductees were horsemen Kathryn G. Clark, Danny Robertshaw and Jarrett Schmid, and show hunters Monday Morning, Protocol, Remember the Laughter, Silver Miner, Western Prospect, and Adult Amateur/Children’s Hunter Foreign Exchange. Also honored were members of the National Show Hunter Hall of Fame with Carolina ties: Joey Darby, R. Bruce Duchossois, Dave Kelley, Betty Oare, J. Arthur Reynolds Sr., Jack Towell, Gordon Wright and Roger Young, and show hunters Balaiaka, Cap N Gown, Rox Dene, Navy Commander and Royal Reveler.

The new CSHHF was inspired by a “memory lane” conversation between Gerald Pack and Jack Towell about the great Carolina show hunter horses and horsemen they’d known. Gerald shared that conversation with fellow TR&HC board member Joann Loheac, who took the idea for a Carolinas Show Hunters Hall of Fame to the TR&HC board, which agreed to make it a new club initiative.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Tears and laughter marked the ceremony, as recipients thanked their horses and fellow horsemen, past and present, for making them the successes they became. A popular surprise was Gerald Pack’s Ambassador’s Award recognizing his longtime support and promotion of the sport.

For more information on the CSHHF, including membership and sponsorship, visit

Photos continue on page 19 and 20.