Columbus police officers receive Region C awards

Published 5:17 pm Friday, June 2, 2017

COLUMBUS – Several Columbus police officers recently received awards at the annual Region C Criminal Justice Advisory Committee banquet.

The banquet was held at the Legends Club at the Tryon International Equestrian Center. Region C includes Polk, Rutherford, McDowell and Cleveland counties. Law enforcement officers, prosecutors and town managers from the four-county district received awards at the annual banquet.

Columbus Officer Cody Gordon was awarded Uniform Patrol Officer of the Year for his work in drug enforcement as well as his daily patrol responsibilities, according to Columbus Police Chief Chris Beddingfield.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Columbus Officer Cody McIntyre received Rookie Officer of the Year for excelling in all facets of police work during his first year as an officer, Beddingfield said.

Chief Beddingfield received the Richard Corley Award for his grant work and alternative fund usage in expanding and improving the department.

The Richard Corley Award is given in honor of former Saluda Police Chief Richard Corley, who expanded and improved Saluda’s Police Department through grant funding. Corley took over Saluda’s Police Department in 1993 and died in 2002 at the age of 53 of cancer.

Beddingfield was also selected as chairman of the Region C committee for 2017-2018.

“The Columbus Police Department is extremely proud of the recognition for these accomplishments of its officers and the outstanding service they provide to the community,” said Beddingfield.