Winners of Sidney Lanier Poetry Competition announced

Published 10:00 pm Friday, May 12, 2017

The winners of the 9th annual Sidney Lanier Poetry Competition were announced Saturday, May 6 at the Lanier Library in Tryon.

Submissions in both adult and student categories this year were judged by poet Kathy Ackerman, who read many of the winning poems as well as some of her own work. Winners in the adult competition were: first place – Karen Luke Jackson of Hendersonville, N.C. for her poem “Deconstructing Goldilocks,” second place – Jill Coyle of Travelers Rest, S.C. for her poem “Communion,” and third place – Jennifer Weiss of Cary, N.C. for her poem, “Relentless.”  Two Honorable Mention poems were awarded to Phelps Pond of Concord, N.C. and Karen Luke Jackson of Hendersonville, N.C.

Winners in the student category were: first place – Ashley Maddock of Columbia, S.C. for her poem “April 18, 1862,” second place – Chloe Tomblin of Columbia, S.C. for her poem “The Crowd Phenomenon,” and third place – James Tinkler for his poem “Ice Cream.”  Two honorable mention poems by Wilbert Limehouse of Charleston, S.C. and Chloe Tomblin of Columbia were also recognized.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

– article submitted by Amber Keeran