Six students inducted into leadership society

Published 10:12 pm Thursday, April 27, 2017

Six students at Isothermal Community College were inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success this week.

The ceremony took place in the student center lobby on Tuesday, April 25.

Ruth Colnot and Sarah Morse, the sponsors of the group, led the program and presented the students for induction after a keynote address by Sandra Lackner, the college’s dean of Student Services. Two NSLS members, Sarah Huffman and Ruth Wurzbach, also shared remarks on leadership.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

To be inducted, a member must complete eight steps by attending an orientation, a half-day leadership training day, three speaker broadcasts by nationally known leaders, and three success networking team meetings where one shares his/her goals and action steps to get there.

The inductees are Shane Adkins, Clifton Baker, Carolyn Gonzalez, Sydney Harrill and Timothy Horne.

Cheyenne Miller, an Isothermal student who recently died in an automobile accident, was inducted posthumously.

The National Engaged Leader Award was given to four existing members of the NSLS chapter: Sarah Haney, Sarah Huffman, Nancy Sebastian and Ruth Wurzbach.

The society is an organization that helps people discover and achieve their goals. The society offers life-changing lectures from the nation’s leading presenters and a community where like-minded, success-oriented individuals come together and help one another succeed.

For more information, contact Colnot at 828-395-4196 or

Article submitted by Mike Gavin