Polk County turns out 68 percent of registered voters in 2016

Published 10:00 pm Friday, November 11, 2016

Voter turnout was down slightly this year for a presidential election in Polk County as 68 percent of registered voters cast their votes this year.

During the last presidential election in 2012, Polk County turned out 72 percent of its voters and the 2008 presidential election saw a 71-percent voter turnout in Polk County.

There are currently 16,076 registered voters in the county with 10,946 total ballots cast in 2016, according to the Polk County Board of Elections, putting the total voter turnout at 68.09 percent.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This year the Saluda Township saw the highest turnout, with 65.81 percent of voter turnout, followed by Green Creek at 65.81 percent, Columbus 8 at 64.55 percent, Tryon at 62.3 percent, Coopers Gap at 62.16 percent, White Oak at 62 percent and Columbus 7 at 61.58 percent voter turnout, according to unofficial results from the Polk County Board of Elections Office.

This year’s election saw heavy turnout in Polk County from Republicans with most offices, both state and local, won by Republican candidates.

The Polk County Republican Board of Commissioners swept the race this year, with Jake Johnson being the high vote getter, followed by Myron Yoder and Tommy Melton. Johnson and Yoder won four-year terms, while Melton won a two-year term on the board.

Newly elected commissioners will be sworn into office during the county’s first December meeting and will join current commissioners Shane Bradley (R) and Ray Gasperson (D).

Johnson took five of seven precincts, winning in Coopers Gap, Columbus 7, Columbus 8, Saluda and White Oak.


Yoder won in Green Creek and Penny Padgett (D) won in Tryon. See chart above for commissioner voting by precinct, according to unofficial results from the Polk County Board of Elections. The totals from Tuesday’s unofficial results do not include absentee or curbside ballots.

The election results will be made official following a canvass of votes by the board of elections scheduled for Friday, Nov. 18.