Early voting begins Thursday in Polk County

Published 10:00 pm Tuesday, October 18, 2016

COLUMBUS – Polk County voters can begin voting early on Thursday, Oct. 20 at the Polk County Board of Elections office and on Monday, Oct. 24 at two fire departments. 

Voters can begin casting votes at the Polk County Board of Elections Office in Columbus beginning Thursday, Oct. 20. Voters can also cast votes beginning Monday, Oct. 24 at the Mill Spring Fire Department and the Green Creek Fire Department. Early voting will end on Saturday, Nov. 5 at all three locations. 

Voters will choose several races from U.S. President to Polk County Commissioners as well as a special referendum regarding changing the board of commissioner terms from staggered two- and four-year terms to staggered four-year terms.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Times to vote at the board of elections office include this Thursday and Friday from 8 a.m. – 7  p.m. and then Monday-Friday from 8 a.m.-7 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 22 and Oct. 29 from 9 a.m.-3 p.m., and Saturday, Nov. 5 from 8 a.m.-1 p.m.

Times to vote at the fire departments, beginning on Monday, Oct. 24 include Monday-Friday from 11 a.m.-6 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 22, Oct. 29 and Nov. 5 from 9 a.m.-1 p.m.

The general election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 8 at all Polk County polling places from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m.

This year will not include voter ID in order to cast votes. For residents who aren’t registered to vote, registration can be done at the same time as early voting, but not on Election Day.

Polk County voters will choose candidates in the following races:

U.S. President and Vice President: Donald J. Trump and Michael Pence, Republican; Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine, Democrat; or Gary Johnson and William Weld, Libertarian.

U.S. Senate: Richard Burr, Republican; Deborah K. Ross, Democrat; or Sean Haugh, Libertarian.

U.S. House of Representatives District 10: Patrick McHenry, Republican; or Andy Millard, Democrat.

N.C. Governor: Pat McCrory, Republican; Roy Cooper, Democrat; or Lon Cecil, Libertarian.

N.C. Lieutenant Governor: Dan Forest, Republican; Linda Coleman, Democrat; or Jacki Cole, Libertarian.

N.C. Attorney General: Buck Newton, Republican; or Josh Stein, Democrat.

N.C. Auditor: Chuck Stuber, Republican; or Beth A. Wood, Democrat.

N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture: Steve Troxler, Republican; or Walter Smith, Democrat.

N.C. Commissioner of Insurance: Mike Causey, Republican; or Wayne Goodwin, Democrat.

N.C. Commissioner of Labor: Cherie Berry, Republican; or Charles Meeker, Democrat.

N.C. Secretary of State: Michael LaPaglia, Republican; or Elaine Marshall, Democrat.

N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: Mark Johnson, Republican; or June Atkinson, Democrat.

N.C. Treasurer: Dale R. Folwell, Republican; or Dan Blue III, Democrat.

N.C. Senate District 47: Ralph Hise, Republican; or Mary Jane Boyd, Democrat.

N.C. House of Representatives District 113: Cody Henson, Republican; or Maureen Mahan Copelof, Democrat.

Board of Commissioners At-Large (vote for three): Jake Johnson, Republican; Tommy W. Melton, Republican; Myron L. Yoder, Republican; Rhonda Lewis, Democrat; Russell A. Mierop, Democrat; and Penny Padgett, Democrat.

Register of Deeds: Sheila W. Whitmire, Republican.

N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice: Michael R. (Mike) Morgan or Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds.

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge: Phil Berger, Jr., Republican; or Linda Stephens, Democrat.

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge: Hunter Murphy, Republican; Margaret Eagles, Democrat; or Donald Ray Buie, Unaffiliated.

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge: Bob Hunter, Republican; or Abe Jones, Democrat.

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge: Richard Dietz, Republican; or Vince Rozier, Democrat.

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge: Valerie Zachary, Republican; or Rickye McKoy-Mitchell, Democrat.

N. C. District Court Judge District 29B: T. McAvoy (Mack) Brittain, Jr.

N.C. District Court Judge District 29B: Athena F. Brooks.

N.C. District Court Judge District 29B: Emily Cowan.

N.C. District Court Judge District 29B: Peter Knight.

Board of Education Saluda Township: Rhonda M. Corley.

Board of Education Tryon Township: Rick Covil.

Board of Education White Oak Township: Lucinda (Cindy) Tate Allen; or Kevin C. Seay. (For these two candidates, see page 7 for discussion of issues)

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor: William Frank Smith.

Alter Board of Commissioners Structure referenda: Shall the structure of the Board of Commissioners be altered to change from a mix of staggered two-year and four-year terms of office to staggered four-year terms of office? For or Against.

For more information regarding the elections, call the Polk County Board of Elections office at 828-894-8181 or visit polknc.org under the board of elections department tab.