SC congressional, state primary scheduled for June 14

Published 10:00 pm Wednesday, May 25, 2016

This year’s statewide primary in South Carolina is set to take place on Tues., June 14. 

Because there is no opposition on the Democratic slate, a Republican primary only will be held in Spartanburg County on June 14.

Here is a list of candidates competing in this year’s primary broken down by district and office, for races in the Bulletin’s readership area.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Incumbent Rep. Mick Mulvaney is being challenged by Ray Craig to represent Spartanburg, Cherokee, Chester, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lee, Newberry, Sumter, Union and York counties in the U.S. House of Representatives, District 5.

John B. White (R-Campobello) is running against Tom Corbin (R-Greer) for state Senate District 5.

Lee Bright (R-Spartanburg) is running against Lisa C. Scott (R-Duncan), Scott Talley (R-Moore) and David McCraw (R-Greer) for state Senate District 12.

Kenny Price (R-Boiling Springs) is running against Harvey Peeler (R-Gaffney) for state Senate District 14.

Michael A. Fowler (R-Spartanburg) is running against Richard Gosnell (R-Spartanburg) for the state House of Representatives seat in District 31.

Donna Hicks (R-Boiling Springs) and Steven Long (R-Boiling Springs) are running for the House of Representatives seat in District 37.

Rep. Doug Brannon (R-Landrum) and Josiah Magnuson (R-Campobello) are running for the state House of Representatives seat in District 38.

Rusty Clevenger (R-Chesnee) and Scott Ramsey (R-Spartanburg) are running for Spartanburg County Coroner.

Stephen Mathis (R-Cowpens) and David Britt (R-Spartanburg) are running for the seat in Spartanburg County Council District 3. Whitney Farr (R-Greer) and Jane Hall (R-Woodruff) are running for the seat in Spartanburg County Council District 4.

According to the Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Spartanburg County, 93,038 of the county’s 170,123 citizens (54.69 percent) are registered to vote. Voters can register to vote, look up voting and photo ID information and make changes to their voting information at

Absentee voting for S.C. voters began on Mon., May 23 at 8:30 a.m., according to Spartanburg County Director of Voter Registration and Elections Henry Laye. South Carolina residents have until 5 p.m. on June 13 to participate in absentee voting, according to, and can do so at the Spartanburg County Voter Registration and Elections office at 366 N. Church St. in Spartanburg.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on June 14. Voters must bring a photo ID to the polling place. These IDs can include a SC driver’s license, SC DMV ID card, SC Voter Registration card with a photo, federal military ID or a U.S. passport and can be received through a local DMV or the county voters registration office.