TJCA takes fourth in 2016 Quiz Bowl State

Published 10:00 pm Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Students compete in Quiz Bowl State Final last weekend.

Students compete in Quiz Bowl State Final last weekend.

After an incredibly exciting day of tight competition, the North Carolina Association for Scholastic Activities is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Quiz Bowl State Final.


Congratulations to The Early College at Guilford, our High School State Champion, and Smith Middle School of Chapel Hill, our Middle School State Champion!

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Students were quizzed on everything from the popular singer-songwriter Sia to the chemical makeup of methine and the Romanov dynasty. The top two middle and top two high schools will be invited to the NAQT Middle and High School National Quiz Bowl Championship Tournaments in May.


In the high school final, The Early College at Guilford led until Providence took a 215 to 205 lead at question 14. From this point on EC Guilford pulled away and won 360 to 250. Guilford ended the day undefeated. On Guilford’s winning team were Jack Crouse (Captain), Pratham Chhabrid, Grey Howard, Tejas Santanam, and Derek Chen. Raleigh Charter High School took third, and Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy of Rutherford County took fourth. The remaining top 10 standings are:


5- Atkins A&T High School

6- Terry Sanford High School

7- Carrboro High School

8- Myers Park High School

9- High Point Central High School

10- Ardrey Kell High School


Jordan-Matthews High School, Northwood High School, Brunswick Early College, Christ School, Northwest Guilford High School, and JA Holmes High School also participated.


In the final match for middle schools, Smith Middle School of Chapel Hill defeated Mount Mourne School of Mooresville 410 to 260. Mount Mourne took an early 70 to 25 lead, but Smith took over from there and lead 235 to 85 at the half. They lead by 150 or more the rest of the match.


On Smith’s undefeated team were Ankita Nandi (Captain), Ewan Mitchell, Kai Hoop, Benjamin McAvoy-Bickford, and Sam Klosowski.  Jay M Robinson Middle School and Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy, both of Charlotte, took third and fourth, respectively.  The remaining top ten standings are:


5- Ligon Middle School

6- Northwest Guilford Middle School

7- Seventy-First Classical Middle School

8- Brown Summit Middle School

9- Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy

10- Pine Forest Middle School


Northeast Academy of Aerospace and Advanced Technologies and Central Middle School of Gates County also participated.


Submitted by Shannon Meyer