Nominations now open for the North Carolina awards

Published 10:00 pm Monday, January 18, 2016

North Carolina Award

North Carolina Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2016 North Carolina Award, the highest civilian honor bestowed by the state, now through April 15. Created by the General Assembly in 1961, and administered by the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, the award recognizes “notable accomplishments by North Carolina citizens” in the fields of literature, science, fine arts and public service.

Award nominations may be submitted by anyone and must include a completed nomination form, cover letter and the nominee’s biography or resume. Letters of support and examples of the nominee’s work will also be accepted. Applications may be submitted online at or materials may be sent to the North Carolina Awards Committee, N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, 4601 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4601.

“This is the opportunity for us to pay tribute to the North Carolinians who better our experiences by their extraordinary involvement in this state,” says Susan Kluttz, secretary of the N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. “Please nominate a co-worker, community leader or friend who has served North Carolina with distinction.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The North Carolina Awards Committee will review the nominations and make its selections in early summer. The recipients will be honored during ceremonies in Raleigh in September. Past award recipients have included some of the country’s most distinguished artists, poets, writers, performers, journalists, scientists and public servants; including William Friday, Romare Bearden, James Taylor, Gertrude Elion, John Hope Franklin, David Brinkley, Maya Angelou, Billy Graham and Branford Marsalis.

Award recipients in 2016 were Anthony S. Abbott of Davidson for literature; Dr. Anthony Atala, of Winston-Salem for science; Senator James T. Broyhill of Winston-Salem for public service; Dr. A. Everette James, Jr., of Chapel Hill for fine arts; Howard N. Lee of Chapel Hill for public service; and Patricia McBride of Charlotte for fine arts.

The nomination form and guidelines are available online. To receive forms by mail or by e-mail contact or call 919-807-7256.


– Submitted by N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources