Two more file for county commission race, one for school board

Published 9:19 pm Wednesday, December 16, 2015

There were two additional candidates to file for the Polk County Board of Commissioners on Tuesday, Dec. 15 to join Jake Johnson (R), who filed last week as the first contender.

Myron Yoder (R) filed to run as well as Penny Padgett (D).

Kevin Seay filed to run for the Polk County School Board for the White Oak Township.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Seay joins incumbent school board candidates, Rick Covil, of the Tryon Township and Rhonda Corley, of the Saluda Township. As of Tuesday night, incumbent Cindy Allen of White Oak has not yet filed to retain her school board seat.

There are three seats up for re-election for the Polk County School Board next year.

The only other candidate to file for the local election is incumbent Polk County Registrar of Deeds Sheila Whitmire (R) with no challengers filing for her seat so far.

There are three seats up for re-election next year on the Polk County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner chair Tom Pack (R), commissioner vice chair Keith Holbert (R) and commissioner Michael Gage (R) have not yet filed for re-election or indicated they have plans to file.

Polk County resident Andy Millard (D) has filed for the U.S. House of Representatives District 10, challenging incumbent Congressman Patrick McHenry (R). The U.S. House of Representatives 10th district includes the counties of Rutherford, Polk, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln and Catawba as well as part of Buncombe County, including the City of Asheville.

Filing for the 2016 election can be done until Monday, Dec. 21 at noon. Candidates wishing to file are encouraged to file prior to the deadline as all paperwork will have to be filed and fees paid by noon on Dec. 21.

Filing can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus Monday-Friday between 8:30 a.m. Р5 p.m. except next Monday’s noon deadline.

The primary election will be held on March 15, 2016 with the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016.

A primary will be necessary if more than three Republican candidates file for the board of commissioners and/or more than three democratic candidates file for the board of commissioners. The school board is a non-partisan race and no primary will be held no matter how many candidates file, according to the board of elections. The 2016 election will be the first to require ID to vote.