Municipal early voting starts Thursday, Oct. 22

Published 7:13 am Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Early voting begins on Thursday, Oct. 22 for Polk County’s three municipalities with races in all three towns this year.

Voting starts Thursday at 8:30 a.m. in the Polk County Board of Elections Office, 40 Ward St., Columbus on the second floor of the Womack building. Early voting continues on Friday, Oct. 23 from 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. then again next week Monday-Saturday, Oct. 26-Oct. 31. Monday through Friday times are 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. and Saturday, Oct. 31, voting can be done from 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

The Town of Columbus has a race of four for three council seats. Incumbents Richard Hall and Margaret Metcalf are running for re-election, along with newcomers Emily Gage and Mark Phillips. Former appointed council member Scott Hamby’s name will be on the ballot but he has dropped out of the race and has resigned from council. Incumbent Columbus Mayor Eric McIntyre is running unopposed this year.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In Saluda there is a race of three commissioners for two open seats. Incumbent commissioner Leon Morgan is running, along with newcomers Karen Bultman and Stanley Walker.

The Town of Tryon has races for both commissioner and mayor. The race of four commissioner candidates for two open seats includes incumbents George Baker and Roy Miller, with Doug Arbogast and Crys Armbrust challenging.

Incumbent Tryon Mayor Jim Wright is being challenged by former mayor Alan Peoples this year.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3 at Columbus, Tryon and Saluda polling places from 6:30 a.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Look for candidate questions in the Bulletin for all three towns during early voting this week and next.