Tomorrow last day to file for town/city election

Published 10:00 pm Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Anyone wishing to file for open mayor and council seats for the Towns of Columbus and Tryon and City of Saluda will have until Friday, July 17 at noon to file.
As of Wednesday prior to filing beginning, there were still several open seats with no one filing to fill.
Filing began last Monday, July 6.
The first to file was Tryon Mayor Jim Wright. Also filing as challenger to Wright’s seat is former Tryon Mayor Alan Peoples.

The seats of current Tryon commissioners George Baker and Roy Miller are also open with no one yet filing.
In Columbus, incumbent council member Margaret Metcalf and Scott Hamby have filed to run for council seats. Hamby was appointed as a Columbus councilman to fill the term of former councilman Ricky McCallister who resigned.

Challengers Mark Phillips and Emily Gage have filed to fill a council seat in Columbus.
The current mayor seat is also up for re-election with mayor Eric McIntyre not yet filing no any challengers. Councilman Richard Hall had also not filed to retain his seat as of early Wednesday.
In Saluda, the only one to file so far is incumbent commissioner Leon Morgan. The commissioner seat of Lynn Cass is also open, with Cass nor any challengers yet filing.
Filing can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in downtown Columbus.
This year’s election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 3. The deadline to register to vote is Oct. 9, according to the N.C. State Board of Elections. Early voting will begin this year on Oct. 22 and end on Oct. 31, according to the state board of elections office.