Annual Meeting of the Second Wind Hall Of Fame

Published 9:31 pm Friday, October 3, 2014

SWHF photo

The Second Wind Hall of Fame held its annual luncheon meeting in the main dining room of Tryon Estates on Sept 26. Fourteen new volunteers were inducted into the Hall of Fame, bringing the current membership close to 200.

The SWHF is a unique 40-year-old Thermal Belt organization. Its mission is to provide recognition for those retirees whose outstanding volunteer efforts in area service organizations exemplifies that retirement need not be the end of a productive life of service to their community. It is truly a Second Wind opportunity to serve mankind.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Director Carolyn Jones introduced the 14 current Inductees and their Sponsor organizations, including: Elaine BELK by Steps To Hope, Sue Brooks by Columbus United Methodist Church, Ann Carswell by Pea Ridge Baptist Church, June Current by Green Blades Garden Club, Jeanie Daniel by Hospice of the Carolina Foothills, Kathleen Foerster by Thermal Belt Outreach Ministry, Don Hofmann by St Lukes Hospital Foundation, Joan Lonnes by The Community Chorus, Muriel Lunsford by Good Shepherd Church, Mary Meyers by Tryon Little Theater, Ambrose MILLS by Holy Cross Episcopal Church, Gretchen Morris by Tryon Garden Club, Heidi Shull by Hospice of the Carolina Foothills, and Jean Shumway by the Daffy Jills Garden Club.

To be considered for Induction into the Hall of Fame, a volunteer must be a retiree who has served with at least three local organizations for at least three years and be Sponsored by one of them. The applications are submitted to a Board of eleven current members for possible Induction into the Hall of Fame.

Director Dean Gregory explained that Second Wind Scholarships are made available to applicants already in working positions who seek additional training to advance their careers. Scholarships were awarded this year to Marshall Lipscomb, Christa Herman, Dawn Forward, and Devon LaFramboise. Devon related to the members how those funds allowed her to study at Blue Ridge Community College to enhance her career.

The main speaker was Professor Brent Nelsen of Furman University, a Presidential appointee to the Board of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Prof. Nelsen gave a very thought provoking analysis of our nation’s political position in the world today.


— article submitted by Larry Poe, 

President Second Wind 

Hall of Fame.