Green Creek polling place changed for November election

Published 10:00 pm Monday, August 18, 2014

by Leah Justice
Green Creek voters should take notice that this November’s election has a change in polling place from the Green Creek Family Life Center to the Green Creek Fire Department.
Election dates have also been released with Friday, Sept. 5 being the first day absentee by mail begins. This year the state changed regulations and anyone who needs to mail in an absentee ballot must fill out a state form. In previous years requests for absentee ballots could be done by a letter.
To find the absentee ballot form, go to then to the board of elections website.
Other dates for this November’s election include the last day to register to vote or change voter affiliation is Oct. 10. Voter registration can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. Mail in voter registration must be postmarked by Oct. 10.
One-stop, or early voting begins on Thursday, Oct. 23 and ends on Saturday, Nov. 1. Early voting can be done at the board of elections office, the Mill Spring Fire Department and the Green Creek Fire Department. Hours for early voting will include from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. Monday – Friday at the board of elections office; from 1 – 7 p.m. at the Green Creek and Mill Spring fire departments Monday – Friday and from 8 a.m.-1 p.m. at all three locations both Saturdays of early voting.
Tuesday, Oct. 28 absentee by mail ends.
The general election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 4 at Polk County’s seven polling locations.
The new voter ID law will not begin until the 2016 election, but voters will be asked for identification during the November election. Voters who do not have identification will be given information on the new law for the 2016 election when identification will be required in order to vote. For information on the new voter ID law, go to the state board of elections website at
This year’s election includes several local races following the May primary. For county commissioner, incumbents Ray Gasperson (D), Keith Holbert (R) and Ted Owens (R) are vying to keep their seats against challengers Shane Bradley (R), Bill Ingham (D) and Lee Mink (D).
Gasperson was the high vote-getter in the primary overall for county commissioner and Holbert was the highest vote-getter in the republican primary.
Other local races include Polk County Sheriff Donald Hill (D), who is being challenged by Pat Staggs (R).
There are four seats up for re-election on the school board, including the Coopers Gap seat, the Columbus seat, the Green Creek seat and one Tryon seat.
Incumbent Polk County School Board Chair Geoffrey Tennant is being challenged by T. Paul Beiler for the Columbus Township seat; incumbent Sherry Page is being challenged by Jeff Weaver for the Green Creek Township seat and Patrick D. Overholt and Jim Patterson are running for the Tryon Township seat, currently held by James Cowan, who did not seek re-election this year. Incumbent Judy Jackson is running unopposed for the Coopers Gap Township.
Polk County Clerk of Court Pam Hyder (D) is also running unopposed.
This year’s election will also include several state, federal and judge positions.
For more information on this year’s election call the Polk County Board of Election’s office at 828-894-8181 or go to the board of election’s website at

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox