Early voting for primary begins Thursday

Published 10:00 pm Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Polk County residents will have three locations to early, or one stop vote over the next couple weeks for the primary election.
Beginning tomorrow, Thursday, April 24, registered voters may vote early at the Polk County Board of Elections office, the Mill Spring Fire Department or the Green Creek Family Life Center.
Voting can be done at the locations from 7 a.m. through 7 p.m. this Thursday and Friday and next Monday through Friday. On Saturday, May 26, voting can be done at all three locations from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. The last Saturday to vote early will be Saturday, May 3, when voting can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections office only from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m.
All polling locations will be open on the primary election day of Tuesday, May 6 with voting available from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.
This year’s primary includes narrowing candidates to three for both Democrat and Republican candidates for the Polk County Board of Commissioners. Registered voters will vote for the races in their parties. Voters registered Unaffiliated can choose which party they wish to vote or vote for only non-partisan races.
There are also primary races for the U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives District 10, N.C. State Senate District 47 and Supreme Court Associate Justice on Polk County’s ballot.
Open county commissioner seats this year include those of Ted Owens (R), Ray Gasperson (D) and Keith Holbert (R), who have all filed for re-election.
Challengers include Shane Bradley (R), Kenneth Brady (D), Bill Ingham (D), Jake Johnson (R) and Lee Mink (D). Voters will vote for three in each party during the primary election.
The race for U.S. Senate is the largest in this year’s primary, with 13 filing for the seat, currently held by Kay Hagan (D). Running in the primary are Thom Tillis (R), Jim Snyder (R), Edward Kryn (R), Mark Harris (R), Heather Grant (R), Alex Lee Bradshaw (R), Greg Brannon (R), Ted Alexander (R), Will Stewart (D), Ernest T. Reeves (D), Hagan (D), Sean Haugh (L) and Tim D’Annunzio (L). Voters will vote for one candidate in each party.
The primary race for the U.S. House of Representatives District 10, currently held by Patrick McHenry (R) includes McHenry running for the Republican bid against Richard Lynch (R).
The Republican bid for the N.C. State Senate District 47 seat, currently held by Ralph Hise (R) is being challenged by Michael Lavender (R).
The Supreme Court Associate Justice seat held by Robin Hudson will see Hudson, Eric Levinson and Jeanette Doran in the primary. Candidates for judge run non-partisan.
The last day to register to vote was April 11 with republicans continuing to have more registered than any party in Polk County with unaffiliated voters next.
There are currently 5,368 registered republicans, 5,166 registered unaffiliated, 4,760 registered democrats and 58 registered libertarians, according to the Polk County Board of Elections Office.
This year’s regular election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 4. The November election in Polk County will see a few races, including for the three open county commissioner seats, for Polk County Sheriff and the Polk County School Board.
Polk County Sheriff Donald Hill (D) is being challenged this year by Pat Staggs (R).
There are four seats up for re-election on the school board this year, including the Coopers Gap seat, the Columbus seat, the Green Creek seat and one Tryon seat.
Incumbent Geoffrey Tennant is being challenged by T. Paul Beiler for the Columbus Township seat; incumbent Sherry Page is being challenged by Jeff Weaver for the Green Creek Township seat and Patrick D. Overholt and Jim Patterson are running for the Tryon Township seat, currently held by James Cowan, who did not seek re-election this year.
Incumbent Judy Jackson is running unopposed for the Coopers Gap Township.
The office of Polk County Clerk of Court is also up for re-election this year, with Pam Hyder (D) running unopposed.
For more information regarding registering to vote or on this year’s election call the office at 828-894-8181 or go to the board of election’s website at www.polknc.org.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox