Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area names new officers

Published 10:03 pm Thursday, February 13, 2014

The Board of Commissioners of the Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area announced its new officers for 2014 as follows:

President: Dwight Hammack, Landrum

Vice President: Dennis Geagan, Landrum

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Secretary: William Brodie, Travelers Rest

Treasurer: Dick Dusa,Travelers Rest

The Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area was established in 1987 for the purpose of organizing a volunteer fire department to provide fire/safety protection and a first response emergency unit within the community.

The Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area covers nearly 56 square miles with a population of 7,500 residents in the area known as The Dark Corner in northern Greenville County which stretches from the east at the Spartanburg County line on Highway 14 to the west of Highway 25 and begins in the south near Highway 414 to the North Carolina state line.

The District operates five fire stations – Glassy Mountain (Headquarters), Beaver Dam, Oak Grove, Dividing Water and Cliffs with approximately 50 volunteer firefighters and first responders.

– article by Sharyn Arnold