Columbus Fire Department honors top fire fighters

Published 5:44 pm Monday, January 13, 2014

The Columbus Fire Department held their annual awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 11.

The fire department had a very active year. The total number calls that the department responded to for 2013 were 1,378. For the year the department spent more than 1,600 hours on scene time and had a total of more than 3,600 hours of training. The Columbus Fire Department was very active in the community this year. They were involved in the Columbus Day celebration, Fourth of July, Tour-D-Leaves bicycle race, Hincapie benefit bike race, Columbus Halloween stroll, Columbus Christmas parade and held two open house and car shows at their station.

The department was involved in training fire prevention to businesses and the public.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Columbus Fire Department Lady’s Auxiliary was started back up this year with Kathy Priester being voted in as president. The auxiliary was instrumental in organizing the public service outreaches this year. They provided firefighters with food and drinks when on large emergency scenes and donated a fire fighter statute for the front lawn of the fire department.

Chief Tony Priester said it takes everyone working together to accomplish the goal of keeping everyone safe.

Awards were giving out for:

Officer of the Year: Tommy Stott

Firefighter of the Year: Dylan Priester

Junior Firefighter of the Year: Trent Rowland

Most training hours by a officer: Bobby Arledge

Most training hours by a volunteer: Dylan Priester

Most training hours by a junior fire fighter: Trent Rowland

Most calls responded to by an officer: Geoffrey Tennant

Most calls responded to by a volunteer: Dylan Priester

Outstanding service and Dedication: Eric Champion, Tommy Stott, Tom Avolose and Bobby Arledge

Chief’s award: JJ Smith

Certification in Emergency Medical Responder: Ronnie Russell

Certification in Emergency Medical Technician, FF1&2, HAZMAT, RIT and Rescue: Dylan Priester

Special awards went to the Polk County Board of Commissioners and Columbus Town Council

– article submitted by Chief Tony Priester