Polk County municipal election results made official

Published 1:34 am Friday, November 15, 2013

The Polk County Board of Elections conducted vote canvassing on Tuesday, Nov. 12 to make this year’s vote totals official.

There were 110 total votes cast in the Town of Columbus, 250 in the City of Saluda and 440 in the Town of Tryon.

Saluda recorded the highest voter turnout of the three towns with 47.6 percent turnout. Tryon had 30.9 percent voter turnout and Columbus had 14 percent turnout.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Saluda had 250 vote out of 525 registered voters; Tryon had 440 vote out of 1,423 registered voters and Columbus had 110 vote out of 788 registered voters.

All winners stand from unofficial results from Tuesday, Nov. 5.

In Columbus, Eric McIntyre retained the mayor seat with Josh Denton, Ricky McCallister and Margaret Metcalf winning council seats.

In Saluda, Mayor Fred Baisden retained his seat with Mark Oxtoby and Carolyn Ashburn winning council seats.

In Tryon, Jim Wright won mayor and Bill Ingham and Happy McLeod won council seats.

Following is the official vote count for each candidate:

Eric McIntyre: 87
Josh Denton: 81
Rick McCallister: 61
Tommy Melton: 40
Margaret Metcalf: 57
Write-in: 4

Fred Baisden: 175
Write-in: 71

Carolyn Ashburn: 109
Karen Bultman: 67
John Kinard: 17
Mark Oxtoby: 114
Hobart “Sunny” Pace: 72
Ellen Rogers: 53
George Sweet: 31
Write-in: 2

Anne Day: 12
Alan Peoples: 148
Jim Wright: 276
Write-in: 2

Doug Arbogast: 58
Bill Crowell: 143
Bill Ingham: 224
Happy McLeod: 214
Billy Moss: 91
Wim Woody: 113

Number of people who voted
Saluda – 250
Tryon – 440
Columbus – 110

Voter registration:
Columbus: 788
Saluda: 525
Tryon: 1423

Total: 2,736